First Stop: Belgium

Brussels, Belgium sits at one location where the Eurostar leads. This is my first destination into using my Eurail Pass. I must say, the cheapest trains with Eurostar tickets leave at 6 in the morning and get more expensive as the day goes on. I decided that since I would be leaving so early in the morning, I might as well spend the night in the St Pancras Station in London. The Station is open all night and some questionable people wander in and out; however, many tourists like me sit around waiting for the super early trains in the station. Luckily, Starbucks stayed open all night.

I learned early on in the trip that I have a strong American accent. This would the first of many times that someone other than a Belgian would tell me such a fact. Funny thing, when you are surrounded by people who sound exactly like you, one never notices that we sport an accent. This is a great part of traveling, your perspective of the world grows and you become more understanding of others.

Now back to Brussels, I only spent a portion of the day in the city. I must say this is where I first had my European pastry. European pastries are of nothing like anything you’ll find in the United States. These delightful carbs erupt with flavor, from being decorated with drizzles of chocolate to fresh fruit; from Brussels onward, I made sure to grab these delicacies wherever I could find them.

The city showed itself to me as a very dirty and tight place. When I mean tight, I’m talking about buildings sitting cramped next to each other and small roads. The day I traveled there the temperature had to be over 75 degrees and construction took up many roads, which may alter what Brussels may be like on a normal day; however, I had talked to the Belgians, and they communicated the fact that they avoid the city, however, their countryside glows with beauty.

These pictures show the close buildings and streets, but also the landscape of the country.

2 thoughts on “First Stop: Belgium

  1. I liked that comment about the American accent – when we are home amongst our fellow Americans we can detect smaller regional accents but still identifiably American. Having lived in New York for most of my adult life, I’ve heard many foreign accents, and foreign languages. I’d always stop and take a moment to look and see whenever I heard a English language speaker but with a decidedly foreign accent like a British, Irish, Australian, New Zealander, or even South African flavor to it.

    So I finally get to England – and wouldn’t you know – I am so accustomed to my fellow Americans that even when I am in bloody London, I’m still AMAZED to hear a British accent. Hence I turned and looked repeatedly. Fortunately that ‘intrigued enough to turn and look feeling’ burned off and vanished in a few days.

    jmm

    Like

Leave a Reply

